Problem Foods
Malt and derivatives
Malt is a cereal grain, usually from Barley and is not allowed for Coeliacs.
Malt Extract is used as a flavouring agent and is not allowed for Coeliacs.
Barley Malt Vinegar is made from fermented Barley and the Gluten is removed during the processing. According to the Coeliac Society of Ireland, it is safe for Coeliacs. Furthermore, the quantity used on your chips etc is reckoned to be so small it will not cause any problems.
Where the Barley Malt Vinegar is used as an ingredient in a product claiming to be GF it will be safe as it will have tested at under 20ppm.
On the other hand, Coeliac UK are asking food manufacturers who produce products made with ingredients from gluten containing grains, such as Barley Malt Vinegar, to not only confirm that their products have been tested and shown to have no more than 20 ppm gluten, but also to label them gluten free.
In the absence of a gluten free label they will no longer be included in the Coeliac UK Food Information listings.
(If you are still unsure about Barley Malt Vinegar there are alternative sources of vinegar that are not made from Barley such as balsamic, cider, sherry, spirit, white wine and red wine vinegar so you won’t be stuck!)
Malt Whisky is distilled and safe for Coeliacs! 😊
Gluten Free Wheat Starch
Gluten-free wheat starch is wheat starch that has had its gluten content reduced to trace levels, typically under 20 parts per million (ppm). It’s reckoned this processing makes it suitable for people with Coeliac Disease or gluten intolerance, as it complies with the legal definition of gluten-free.
It’s used in gluten-free baking and cooking to help mimic the texture and properties of wheat flour without the gluten.
However, while generally safe for those with Coeliac Disease, some individuals may still have adverse reactions to this GF wheat starch and this includes my wife Tina!
If you have concerns, it’s always best to avoid wheat starch or choose products clearly certified gluten-free by a reputable organization.